Instagram’s 2017 Year in Review

Posted on November 29, 2017

Today, we’re excited to announce the Instagram community’s top 2017 moments. People from all around the world came to Instagram to collectively experience this year’s most important events, milestones and trends – from pop culture to cultural movements.

In celebration of our global community of 800 million, we’re sharing the following Year in Review data:

  • 2017’s top Instagram hashtags
  • 2017’s most-liked posts and videos
  • 2017’s most-Instagrammed cities and locations (based on geotags)
  • The most-followed celebrities
  • Celebrities who gained the most followers on Instagram in 2017
  • Hashtags that increased most in popularity throughout 2017
  • Accounts with the Most-viewed Instagram Stories of 2017
  • The most-used Instagram Filters in feed and Instagram Stories
  • The most-followed pets on Instagram

From all of us at Instagram, thank you for being you. We can’t wait to see what you’ll share — and love — next year.

Most-liked posts of 2017:

  1. Beyoncé (@beyonce) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BP-rXUGBPJa/
  2. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BbaImIfFr0h/
  3. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BZBHr4Pg5Wd/
  4. Beyoncé (@beyonce) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BWg8ZWyghFy/
  5. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BV7m0IZFj_p/
  6. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BS7VkPTg0-s/
  7. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BTkzIjIAsRK/
  8. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BYTwfPVFVQY/
  9. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BRv1dAUgba7/
  10. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BW4LoqjgExn/

Most-liked celebrity videos of 2017:

  1. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BZl9v6YFStc/
  2. Leo Messi (@leomessi) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BXSt62SFYWj/
  3. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BY_-Fc7A0jH/
  4. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BYLE2kRFAiG/
  5. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BZx78l3FrZT/
  6. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BagdW4FFMox/
  7. Leo Messi (@leomessi) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BWGv3BWlPMe/
  8. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) – https://www.instagram.com/p/Bao3FRQg2Yx/
  9. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BX0cac2lm3B/
  10. Emilia Clarke (@emilia_clarke) – https://www.instagram.com/p/BX5_r1xFWFX/

Top hashtags of 2017:

  1. #love
  2. #fashion
  3. #photooftheday
  4. #photography
  5. #art
  6. #beautiful
  7. #travel
  8. #happy
  9. #nature
  10. #picoftheday

Most-Instagrammed cities of 2017:

  1. New York, New York
  2. Moscow, Russia
  3. London, United Kingdom
  4. Sao Paulo, Brazil
  5. Paris, France
  6. Los Angeles, California
  7. Saint Petersburg, Russia
  8. Jakarta, Indonesia
  9. Istanbul, Turkey
  10. Barcelona, Spain

Most-Instagrammed locations of 2017:

  1. Disneyland, Anaheim, USA
  2. Times Square, New York City, USA
  3. Central Park, New York City, USA
  4. Tour Eiffel, Paris, France
  5. Tokyo Disneyland, Tokyo, Japan
  6. Disney’s Magic Kingdom, Orlando, USA
  7. Musée du Louvre, Paris, France
  8. Brooklyn Bridge, Brooklyn, USA
  9. Disney California Adventure Park, Anaheim, USA
  10. Las Vegas Strip, Las Vegas, USA

Most-followed celebrities of 2017:

  1. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) – 130M+ Followers
  2. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) – 116M+ Followers
  3. Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) – 115M+ Followers
  4. Beyoncé (@beyonce) – 108M+ Followers
  5. Kim Kardashian West (@kimkardashian) – 104M+ Followers
  6. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) – 104M+ Followers
  7. Kylie Jenner (@kyliejenner) – 99.5M+ Followers
  8. Dwayne Johnson (@therock) – 96M+ Followers
  9. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) – 93.9M+ Followers
  10. Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner) – 84.8M+ Followers

Celebrities who gained the most followers in 2017:

  1. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) – 30M+ New Followers
  2. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) – 24M+ New Followers
  3. Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) – 22M+ New Followers
  4. Kylie Jenner (@kyliejenner) – 23M+ New Followers
  5. Dwayne Johnson (@therock) – 22M+ New Followers
  6. Leo Messi (@leomessi) – 21M+ New Followers
  7. Neymar Jr (@neymarjr) – 20M+ New Followers
  8. Beyoncé (@beyonce) – 17M+ New Followers
  9. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) – 16M+ New Followers
  10. Kim Kardashian West (@kimkardashian) – 15M+ New Followers

Hashtags that increased most in popularity throughout 2017:

  1. #photography
  2. #travelphotography
  3. #memes
  4. #summer2017
  5. #naturephotography
  6. #meme
  7. #travel
  8. #fitnessmotivation
  9. #bts
  10. #photographer

Accounts with the Most-viewed Instagram Stories of 2017
Methodology: Verified accounts with over 5 million followers who garnered the most views on Instagram Stories in 2017 (January 1 – present, global)

  1. LeLe Pons (@lelepons)
  2. Neymar Jr. (@neymarjr)
  3. Olga Buzova (@buzova86)
  4. Kim Kardashian (@kimkardashian)
  5. Amanda Cerny (@amandacerny)
  6. Chiara Ferragni (@chiaraferragni)
  7. Maluma (@maluma)
  8. Anitta (@anitta)
  9. Ariana Grande (@arianagrande)
  10. Kourtney Kardashian (@kourtneykardash)

Most-used Instagram Filters of 2017:

  1. Clarendon
  2. Gingham
  3. Juno
  4. Lark
  5. Moon

Most-used Instagram Stories Face Filters:

  1. Puppy
  2. Bunny
  3. Koala
  4. Genius
  5. Love

Most-followed Pets on Instagram in 2017:

  1. jiffpom (@jiffpom) – Pomerian, US
  2. nala_cat (@nala_cat) – Cat, US
  3. Doug the Pug (@itsdougthepug) – Pug, US
  4. Marutaro (@marutaro) – Shiba Inu, JP
  5. Grumpy Cat (@realgrumpycat) – Cat, US
  6. Marnie the Dog (@marniethedog) – Shih Tzu, US
  7. Tuna (@tunameltsmyheart) – Chihuahua, US
  8. Juniper&Fig (@juniperfoxx) – Fox, US
  9. Lil BUB (@iamlilbub) – Cat, US
  10. Loki (@loki_the_wolfdog) – Husky, US
Share